2 of 3
2
Ok… A heads up on a new scam…the re-direct PHISHING site “Rapidslnore.com”...BE CAREFUL…YOU MUST READ THIS !
Posted: 05 August 2008 08:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]  
Bukkake Champion
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  510
Joined  2007-02-10

Just add it to your hosts file. Sorted.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 08:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]  
Dr Doolittle The Animal Lover
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8311
Joined  2007-09-30
De_Bunk - 05 August 2008 08:03 PM

will not have shit on TC…

except if it involves 2 girls, a cup and a money making opportunity by selling T-shirts tongue wink

 Signature 

We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak. EPICTETUS (c 55-135 AD)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 08:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]  
Bukkake Champion
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2006-05-18

Yup fuck em in the dirty scamming arseholes. I fucking hate viruses BUT i would love to find the most evil fuckin virus made and mail it to these cunts.

 Signature 

●█〓██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ●●●●>>>>
▄▅█i <3 xbl!!!!███▅▄▃▂
████████████████
◥⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙◤

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 08:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]  
Bukkake Champion
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  510
Joined  2007-02-10

Jeeze… follow the instructions here lardies and gents: http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm

You’ll have no trouble with spyware/malware/phishing and some viruses ever again! smile

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 08:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11921
Joined  2006-10-12

Dr.Fox

That can be a bit confusing for the average user…

Whilst me and you know what you say is correct…a lot of people dont….and would never be able to fully understand whats on your link..

Lets just try and keep this simple for the majority of internet users…

You know what i mean…

We all had to start somewhere…and i think ‘keep it simple’

DB

 Signature 

NEW MEMBERS…Read this FAQ http://www.totallycrap.com/forums/viewthread/9987/ before posting…..

“Is it Brokeback Mountain?”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 08:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11921
Joined  2006-10-12

PS…

Here’s hoping that everyone who has read this thread…passes it on to their friends…

That is the best way to stamp this shit out…

DB

 Signature 

NEW MEMBERS…Read this FAQ http://www.totallycrap.com/forums/viewthread/9987/ before posting…..

“Is it Brokeback Mountain?”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 08:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]  
Bukkake Champion
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  510
Joined  2007-02-10
De_Bunk - 05 August 2008 08:53 PM

Dr.Fox

That can be a bit confusing for the average user…

Whilst me and you know what you say is correct…a lot of people dont….and would never be able to fully understand whats on your link..

Lets just try and keep this simple for the majority of internet users…

You know what i mean…

We all had to start somewhere…and i think ‘keep it simple’

DB

Hehe indeed… but if you can’t handle a copy and paste job, you really shouldn’t be anywhere near a computer.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 09:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]  
Gay Gang Banger
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3077
Joined  2006-10-13

I might be missing something but I’m sure that will not stop this particular type of phishing. Just had a look at the hosts file and it contains none of the sites mentioned, therefore if someone clicks the link it will not be redirected to the localhost. It would require the user to add sites (to the hosts file) such as rapidsnare.com etc each time a new phisihing site’s created.

The only treu protection is vigilance. When clicking an unknown link from here (or any other site) linking to a rapdhare download check the address to ensure it is, in fact, rapidshare.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 09:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11921
Joined  2006-10-12

Dr.Fox

Just like the people who think they have won the ‘hourly prize’....or that the ‘MSN Messenger’ looking pop-up is personally for them…

Or the visitors to TotallyCrap, who click on the links here that have ‘WOW! Look at this’ in the thread heading…

(Well…until me or Mod removes them)

Like i said…You know what i mean…

Remember…Simple is good for the masses…And i learnt how to make a website from reading ‘How to make a website’ aimed at 8-10yr olds…True story… cheese

DB

 Signature 

NEW MEMBERS…Read this FAQ http://www.totallycrap.com/forums/viewthread/9987/ before posting…..

“Is it Brokeback Mountain?”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 09:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]  
Gay Gang Banger
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3077
Joined  2006-10-13

I might be missing something but I’m sure that will not stop this particular type of phishing. Just had a look at the hosts file and it contains none of the sites mentioned, therefore if someone clicks the link it will not be redirected to the localhost. It would require the user to add sites (to the hosts file) such as rapidsnare.com etc each time a new phishing site’s created.

The only true protection is vigilance. When clicking an unknown link from here (or any other site) linking to a rapdhare download check the address to ensure it is, in fact, rapidshare.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 09:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]  
Bukkake Champion
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  510
Joined  2007-02-10
Sea Dog - 05 August 2008 09:06 PM

I might be missing something but I’m sure that will not stop this particular type of phishing. Just had a look at the hosts file and it contains none of the sites mentioned, therefore if someone clicks the link it will not be redirected to the localhost. It would require the user to add sites (to the hosts file) such as rapidsnare.com etc each time a new phisihing site’s created.

The only treu protection is vigilance. When clicking an unknown link from here (or any other site) linking to a rapdhare download check the address to ensure it is, in fact, rapidshare.

Correct… you’d have to go to all of the trouble to add an extra line in your hosts file rolleyes

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 09:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]  
Gay Gang Banger
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3077
Joined  2006-10-13

Which is ok if you’re a local admin - the majority of users (especially if they are at work) will not have access to edit their hosts file.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 09:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]  
Dr Doolittle The Animal Lover
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8311
Joined  2007-09-30

sites like that give false confidence. People assume all sites then look at are safe or the host thingy would pick it up and then when a new site is created and not on that list they wont be as vigilent

i prefer just to watch what im clicking on

 Signature 

We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak. EPICTETUS (c 55-135 AD)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 09:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11921
Joined  2006-10-12

Agreed…

Being instantly told what to avoid is the quickest and most efficient means of telling everyone here…

And dont forget..there are different variations/hosts/names/proxies appearing by the day…

Keeping it “real easy to understand” is the best way to spread the word as soon as possible…

If you have any ‘I know’ advice….put it in a PM to the Admin or a Mod…

DB

 Signature 

NEW MEMBERS…Read this FAQ http://www.totallycrap.com/forums/viewthread/9987/ before posting…..

“Is it Brokeback Mountain?”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2008 09:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]  
Gang Bang Master
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1599
Joined  2007-08-15

Oi! Fuck this!

Deebster, I say we sell all of our shit, buy leather jackets, motorcycles and a fuckload of guns and hunt these fuckers down!

LOL

Thanks for the heads up, I’ll be sure to warn my porn addicted friends here at work.

-A.Filth

 Signature 

15cg2mh.gif
Can I draw?|I have A.D.D?

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2
 
Our Sponsors